In 2016, Fair Trade Hong Kong launched the Jockey Club Fair Trade School Award Scheme, the first local Fair Trade School scheme, with the funding support from The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust. By combining secondary school curriculum and extracurricular activities, teachers, students and parents have gained a deeper understanding of Fair Trade, hence living out their global citizenship responsibilities in their community.


Moreover, students with outstanding performance were given the opportunity to join the education tours to Sri Lanka, and learnt how Fair Trade helped the local farmers and workers to improve their livelihoods and promoted community development.



Fourteen schools participated in the Scheme from 2015 to 2019, and have been awarded as Fair Trade Schools, acknowledging their effort in continually advocating Fair Trade values and organising activities in their campus and community.


Funded by The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, The Jockey Club Fair Trade School Award Scheme (2019-2022), with a new scheme structure, was launched in September 2019. The Scheme aims at nurturing the next generation to be more active and responsible global citizens, with four main objectives:


  • Raise awareness and deepen the understanding of global citizenship, including ethical consumption, among teachers and students through Fair Trade education in schools
  • Nurture a Fair Trade Generation with understanding of the issues and relevant skills
  • Initiate a deeper self-reflection on consumption behaviour
  • Put global citizenship into communal action


There will be two cycles provided for application, schools can either apply in September 2019 or in September 2020. Each cycle will last for two academic years. Through training of related concepts and skills, students will be able to advocate Fair Trade in their schools and community. Outstanding students will be given an opportunity to participate in an overseas visit to a developing country, to consolidate their learnings about Fair Trade and its impact on developing countries.

Participated Schools

In no particular order


HKFYG Lee Shau Kee College

St. Rose of Lima's College

Shun Tak Fraternal Association Leung Kau Kui College

Kiangsu-Chekiang College (Kwai Chung)

Tin Shui Wai Methodist College

Hoi Ping Chamber of Commerce Secondary School

Carmel Alison Lam Foundation Secondary School

Lions College


Ying Wa College

Kowloon True Light School

Sheng Kung Hui Tang Shiu Kin Secondary School

Heung To Secondary School (Tseung Kwan O)

Sha Tin Methodist College

Sheng Kung Hui Lui Ming Choi Secondary School

The Chinese Foundation Secondary School

ELCHK Lutheran Secondary School


HKMLC Queen Maud Secondary School

Sha Tin Government Secondary School

Leung Shek Chee College

Holy Trinity College


King George V School

Tung Wah Group of Hospitals Kwok Yat Wai College

True Light Girls' College

HKMA David Li Kwok Po College

Scientia Secondary School

Tak Sun Secondary School





HKFYG Lee Shau Kee College

Hoi Ping Chamber of Commerce Secondary School

Tung Wah Group of Hospital Lo Kon Ting Memorial College

Yan Chai Hospital Lim Por Yen Secondary School